Author Topic: London Marathon Expo and London Marathon  (Read 10393 times)

Ian Lockyer

• Committee
London Marathon Expo and London Marathon
« on: March 10, 2012, 10:11:50 PM »
I am a newbie to the London Marathon and have two things to ask:

Visiting the London Marathon Expo
I recently found out that I had to visit the London Marathon Expo to register and to receive my race pack.  I don’t' fancy dong this at the weekend so if anyone wants to share a car in the week, I would be more than happy to give them a lift.

Getting to the London Marathon on Race Day.
Bit perplexed by this...was going to train this or do part car/part train.  Ideally I would have loved my family to come, but I don’t think it is fair on them to put them through an early start.  Has anyone got any advice....I have this massive nightmare of sleeping through or even worse, the trains being delayed on race day.

Any feedback would be gratefully received.

Ian Lockyer

fosterm

Re: London Marathon Expo and London Marathon
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2012, 12:40:58 PM »
Hi Ian, there is normally a convoy of cars that leave Thanet carrying runners and spectators which drive to Barnehurst where we all get the train to Blackheath - the runners get off here and make their way in plenty of time to their various starts and the spectators carry on to London for a McD breakfast before going to their cheering spot on the Embankment opposite the water station just after 25 miles.  I think we have a space in our car if you would like a lift?

Helen Spain

• Club Member
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2012, 04:17:18 PM »
HI

Mark's plan sounds good.  I must admit I go up the day before and stay in a hotel.  The charity that I am running for (WCRF) hosts a pasta party on Sat eve in Baker Street - so I carbo load here before also.  Good luck!

Ian Lockyer

• Committee
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2012, 08:34:54 PM »
Thanks for the comments Mark/Helen.