News Medway & Maidstone AC Claim First Places at Alan Green 10 Mile Memorial Race Medway & Maidstone AC Claim First Places at Alan Green 10 Mile Memorial Race


Report by Ian Lockyer
2017-12-07 22:25:28

Medway & Maidstone AC Claim First Places at Alan Green 10 Mile Memorial Race

The weather conditions were kind to runners of this year at the Alan Green Memorial 10 Mile Coastal Road race, held on December 3rd, 2017.  The race saw just under 400 runners take part in a coastal route which began near Westgate Pavilion heading through Margate to Palm Bay and back.  

This year's race had 391 finishers with Robert Meyer of Medway & Maidstone AC winning in 53 minutes 26 seconds followed by Jim Allchin in 55 minutes 4 seconds and Bradley Cameron of Thanet Roadrunners came third in  55 minutes 39 seconds.  Medway & Maidstone AC also won the women's race with Liz Weeks coming first in 1 hour 3 minutes 10 seconds followed by Alison Scantelbury in second in 1 hour 12 minutes 58 seconds.  Lynne Champion of Istead & Ifield Harriers coming third in 1 hour 13 minutes 23 seconds.

The race had a big showing from Thanet Roadrunners AC club members, even with many working behind the scenes supporting race director Spencer Hoult.  There were 25 Thanet Roadrunners who ran with many achieving personal bests over the distance. There were four Thanet men in the top twenty with Bradley Cameron continuing his recent good form finishing 3rd.  As for the ladies, Abigail Cardwell came home in a fabulous 1 hour 16 minutes 3 seconds.

Full Thanet Roadrunner AC results below:

Pos     Name                                  Time

3          Bradley Cameron               55:39.1

11       Chris Brenchley                   1:03:16.6

13       Jack Bradley                       1:03:46.4

16       Iain Cousins                        1:04:37.7

31       David Winch                        1:10:49.3

37       Steve  Suttle                        1:11:46.0

41       Andrew Richardson             1:12:22.5

53       Scot Haggarty                     1:13:33.7

66       Abigail Cardwell                  1:16:03.5

95       Roy Barden                         1:18:40.9

122     Nicola Boyes                       1:21:00.2

161     Adrian Neaves                   1:25:14.4

163     Steve  Clarke                     1:25:19.9

178     Jo Jeffreys                          1:27:25.45

179     Richard Purton                   1:27:25.7

197     Debbie Hatt                        1:29:28.9

216     Simon Burton                     1: 31:45.4

254     Simon Northrop                 1:35:46.4

255     Shelley Rowe                     1:35:48.5

258     Sharon Foster                     1:36:05.3

319     Adrian Smith                       1:42:21.8

325     Bill Wright                            1:44:08.0

341     Betsey Wagland                  1:47:30.6

371     Allison Hales                        1:57:55.3

372     Stephen Caps                      1:57:52.6

Spencer Hoult Race Director said, ‘Many congratulations to all today’s runners, and huge thanks to all our supporters as well as the myriad of helpers and marshals - who all give up their time voluntarily to ensure all goes smoothly. Without all this help, the race would not be able to go ahead.’

As well as receiving a fabulous medal, the event held a free cake stall for all entrants with Claire Greenaway winning a prize for the best cake.  Organisers donated at least £1 from each entry to the Pilgrims Hospices in Margate, the official charity for this year’s race.

The next event on the Thanet Roadrunner calendar is the Ricki Savage 20 Mile Road Race sponsored by Oakwood Homes on Sunday, March 4th, 2018, ideal for spring marathon preparation.  The Harbour Wallbanger beach race returns on 19th May 2018, with the Marathon and Half Marathon next September.

Full results for the Alan Green Memorial 10 Mile Coastal Road race can be found at

To download free running images, visit the Thanet Roadrunner AC Facebook page at.


Annual news archives

| 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 |


Sign up to the Thanet Roadrunners AC newsletter for regular club news, announcements and more.



© 2010-2018 Thanet Roadrunners AC | Admin

Race Terms & Conditions
Site Map | New! Privacy and Cookie Policy

Web design Kent
by Fearntech
Sports Club Design System 2.0.15