News Club Stalwarts Rewarded For Service at Thanet Roadrunners AC Presentation Night Club Stalwarts Rewarded For Service at Thanet Roadrunners AC Presentation Night


Report by Ian Lockyer
2015-02-08 16:47:45

Club Stalwarts Rewarded For Service at Thanet Roadrunners AC Presentation Night

Over 50 club members attended the Thanet Roadrunners AC Awards & Presentation Night on Friday 6th February 2014 at Margate Football Club.  The evening, an important event part of the club’s calendar, sees members rewarded for their athletic achievements.  Also, importantly, the club presents two special awards to two individuals who both the Chairman and club secretary feel have contributed something extra special to the club. 

Steve Clarke, Chairman of Thanet Roadrunners AC said, ‘our presentation night is the culmination of a year’s hard training.  It is a great social event for everyone to let their hair down and celebrate the clubs athletic achievements.’

29 awards were given out for the clubs Championships, based on the accumulation of points attained from running in Kent Grand Prix races throughout the year.  Notable distinction was given to Owen Mitchell and Pam Philpot who both won the overall championship categories.

Steve Clarke (L) presenting Gaynor Shelvey(R) with the Chairmans Award

The club’s two special awards were given to Gaynor Shelvey and Terry Brightwell.  Gaynor was given the Chairman’s award for running three beginner’s classes each week.  In addition to the contribution that Gaynor has made to the club over so many years, the club have also made her a life member. 

Terry Brightwell won the secretary’s award for his dedicated work in race administration, a pivotal role in all the races that Thanet Roadrunners AC hold.

Tanya Edwards (L) presenting Terry Brightwell (R) with the Secretary Award

Steve Clarke said, ‘Gaynor’s commitment to the club is immense.  She is a longstanding member who has provided a huge contribution to the club and importantly providing a warm welcome to new runners who could be overawed by facing a run for the first time.  She is a great ambassador for the club and that is why we decided to give her the honour of becoming a life member

Details of the clubs awards can be found below:

Thanet Roadrunners AC Club Championship Final Standings 2014 (After 10 Races)

Senior Men    

1st       Owen Mitchell

2nd      Bradley Cameron       

3rd       John Hunt       


V40 Men        

1st       Christopher Brenchley           

2nd      Stephen Forshaw        

3rd       Andy Stevens


V50 Men        

1st       Steve Suttle    

2nd      Michael Philpot          

3rd       Steve Clarke   


V60 Men        

1st       Bill Wright      

2nd      Terry Brightwell         

3rd       Peter Johnson 


Overall Men   

1st       Owen Mitchell           

2nd      Christopher Brenchley           

3rd       Bradley Cameron       


Senior Ladies  

1st       Rebecca Williams      

2nd      Nannette Miles          

3rd       Helena Heath 


V35 Ladies      

1st*     Sarah Harmes

2nd      Debbie Hatt

3rd       Tanya Edwards           


V45 Ladies      

1st       Pam Philpot    

2nd      Helen Spain

3rd       Pauline Petitt 


V55 Ladies      

1st       Gaynor Shelvey          

2nd      Noreen Simpson         


Overall Ladies

1st       Pam Philpot    

2nd      Rebecca Williams      

3rd*     Sarah Harmes 


Annual news archives

| 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 |


Sign up to the Thanet Roadrunners AC newsletter for regular club news, announcements and more.



© 2010-2018 Thanet Roadrunners AC | Admin

Race Terms & Conditions
Site Map | New! Privacy and Cookie Policy

Web design Kent
by Fearntech
Sports Club Design System 2.0.15