News Ricki Savage Thanet 20 Mile Race, a Resounding Racing Success Ricki Savage Thanet 20 Mile Race, a Resounding Racing Success


Report by Ian Lockyer
2015-03-02 19:56:14

Ricki Savage Thanet 20 Mile Race, a Resounding Racing Success

A strong Kent coastal headwind in the second half of the race made it hard work for the runners on Sunday’s Ricki Savage Thanet 20 mile race .  The race which started at the Promenade on the Royal Esplanade in Ramsgate, took in a fantastic coastal route including Ramsgate harbour and seafront, Broadstairs, the Viking ship at Cliffsend, Pegwell Country Park to name but a few sights, before the runners return to a triumphant and well deserved finish.  

The Ricki Savage Thanet 20 mile race, commonly known as the ‘Thanet 20’ was held in memory of Thanet Roadrunner, Ricki Savage who tragically died after completing the Dublin Marathon in 2013.  The race, reintroduced back into the racing calendar by Thanet Roadrunners AC after a year’s absence will see £1 from each entry donated to the 1st St Lawrence Scout group which Ricki was running for in Dublin at the time.  

261 runners completed the course with Tom Collins from Medway and Maidstone AC with 1 hr 58mins was the only athlete to break two hours, two minutes clear of Canterbury Harriers’ Adam Stokes. Terry Reeves from Dartford Road Runners was third, three minutes further back in 2hrs 4mins. Cecilia Siruffo from Guildford and Godalming claimed the ladies’ top spot in 2hrs 20 mins, just ahead of Deal Tri’s Jill Cliff. Claire Day of Paddock Wood AC finished in third place, as just 80 seconds covered the top three.

The race had a big showing from Thanet Roadrunners AC club members, even with many working behind the scenes supporting debut race director Adrian Smith.  There were some excellent performances from the 14 home runners on show. Bradley Cameron was 10th just beating 2hrs 15mins, with Shaun Mason in 12th just over a minute down, and Owen Mitchell down in 23rd, as TRAC had five men in the top 30. Sarah Harmes was the first TRAC lady back, in 2hrs 53mins, joined by Helen Spain in 3.01. 

Full Thanet Roadrunner AC results below:

Pos  Name                           Time    
 10    CAMERON, Bradley      2:14:56    
 12    MASON, Shaun            2:16:04    
 23    MITCHELL, Owen         2:21:36    
 26    HUNT, John                  2:21:49    
 27    STEVENS, Andy           2:21:59    
 56    SUTTLE, Steve             2:32:34    
 74    TERRY, Mark                2:39:13    
 134    GOUGH, Peter            2:49:59    
 152    HARMES, Sarah         2:53:50    
 171    SPAIN, Helen             3:01:10    
 174    CARTER, Andrew       3:02:14    
 214    TONG, Steve             3:16:12    
 227    NORTHROP, Oliver    3:24:13    
 245    RYDER, Rick             3:36:14    

Adrian Smith, Race Director for the Thanet 20 said, ‘After a year’s break, it was great to bring this race back as it provides the ideal training preparation for anyone undertaking any of the popular spring marathons such as Brighton and London.’ 

‘The race was a great success and we have has so much positive feedback online.  Despite the wind, it was a lovely sunny day and runners as well as out marshals all enjoyed themselves.  We hope to see many the runners again next year or at one of our other races later in the year!’ 

He added, ‘Many congratulations to all today’s runners, and huge thanks to all our sponsors including our headline sponsor, Oakwood Homes.  Thanks also to our other supporters and to all our marshals and drinks station attendants. Without all this help, the race would not be able to go ahead.’

Entries are open for our popular beach race, the Harbour Wallbanger on 23rd May, and have just opened for our headline races, the Fosters Law Kent Coastal Marathon and Half Marathon on 6th September. 

Pictures courtesy of Jodi Hanagan

Related event: Ricki Savage Thanet 20 mile 2015


Annual news archives

| 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 |


Sign up to the Thanet Roadrunners AC newsletter for regular club news, announcements and more.



© 2010-2018 Thanet Roadrunners AC | Admin

Race Terms & Conditions
Site Map | New! Privacy and Cookie Policy

Web design Kent
by Fearntech
Sports Club Design System 2.0.15