Events Beachy Head Marathon 2011

Beachy Head Marathon 2011 (22nd Oct 2011)

Start time: 9.00

Location: St Bede's School, Duke's Drive, Eastbourne, BN20 7XL


Many thanks to John Cooper for this brief report from the Beachy Head Marathon in Eastbourne, which was run over a very hilly and picturesque course. Thanet Roadrunners AC had 25 entrants amongst the field of almost 1800 runners and walkers who took part on a sunny but windy day. All those took part for their own special reasons and the Thanet Team were well supported around the course by club president Derek Sackett and other club supporters on the day.

It was great to see that one of Thanet Roadrunners AC life members Dave Wickham who has not competed for several years due to injuries walked and completed the event with his son in a respectable time of 7 hours 15 minutes. The first two Thanet Roadrunner AC finishers were Pete Johnson and John Poole, who stopped off to run the race whilst on route to compete in a 50 mile race later the same day. The race was chip timed and the results below show the clock time followed by the chip time. The finish positions are as per the clock time not the chip times. Where chip times are not recorded, the walkers/ runners started before the official race start time.
Thanet Roadrunner AC results
                                       Clock Time            Chip Time
184th Peter Johnson            4:11:59                4:11:26
213th John Poole                 4:16:39                4:16:07
462nd Chris Hall                  4:50:41                4:49:13
528th Matt Hall                    4:58:10                4:56:43
567th Barbara Gambrill        5:01:54                5:00:34
602nd John Cooper             5:07:34                5:05:08
641st Pam Philpott             5:12:52                5:11:31
843rd Symon Barkway        5:47:25                5:45:24
844th Mark Foster              5:47:26                5:45:26
883rd Gary Gillatt               5:53:21               not recorded
905th Derek Hall                5:59:36                 5:57:57 
906th Julia Hall                  5:59:36                 5:57:55
907th Becky Hall               5:59:52                 5:58:12
960th Julia Hermitage        6:14:58                 6:12:53
961st Karen Daniels          6:14:58                 6:13:01
1012th Donna Perkins        6;29:31                 6:27:34
1013th Steve Clark            6:29:31                 6:27:29
1061st Nigel Ross-Hunt     6:46:04                 6:44:02
1110th Dave Wickham       7:15:31                 7:13:41
1266th Mick Hall               8:34:38              not recorded
1267th Sharon Foster        8:34:38              not recorded
1268th Mark Perkins         8:34:38              not recorded
1269th Pauline Hall           8:34:38              not recorded
1270th Martin Brazier        8:34:38              not recorded
1271st Anna Gillatt              8:34:38              not recorded


Sign up to the Thanet Roadrunners AC newsletter for regular club news, announcements and more.




long run coming to east kent 22nd september
by Rick Ryder (July 02, 2018, 11:16:26 PM)
3.7 for Matt ParkRun Sat 28th April
by Rick Ryder (April 25, 2018, 03:18:58 PM)
by Rick Ryder (April 01, 2018, 08:58:39 AM)

© 2010-2018 Thanet Roadrunners AC | Admin

Race Terms & Conditions
Site Map | New! Privacy and Cookie Policy

Web design Kent
by Fearntech
Sports Club Design System 2.0.15